We use essential cookies to make our site work. We'd also like to set analytics cookies that help us make improvements by measuring how you use the site. These will be set only if you accept.

For more detailed information about the cookies we use, see our cookies page.

Essential Cookies

Essential cookies enable core functionality such as security, network management, and accessibility. For example, the selections you make here about which cookies to accept are stored in a cookie.

You may disable these by changing your browser settings, but this may affect how the website functions.

Analytics Cookies

We'd like to set Google Analytics cookies to help us improve our website by collecting and reporting information on how you use it. The cookies collect information in a way that does not directly identify you.

Third Party Cookies

Third party cookies are ones planted by other websites while using this site. This may occur (for example) where a Twitter or Facebook feed is embedded with a page. Selecting to turn these off will hide such content.

Skip to main content

Louisa Powell Almshouses

The Louisa Powell’s Almshouse Charity consists of five one-bedroom houses which are built on land situated in Corve Street, Ludlow the land being gifted on the 12th May 1877 by Louisa Powell and Francis Richard Southern for the benefit of the Parishes of Diddlebury and Stanton Lacy. The houses were developed in 1878.

The persons to be chosen to occupy each of the Almshouses shall be any person who, or whose spouse is or has been, in the opinion of the trustees, engaged substantially and for a substantial period in agriculture or in associated occupation in the Parish of Diddlebury or the Parish of Stanton Lacy or in any parish adjoining either of these parishes. This has been widened to include people in Need.

There should be 3 ex officio Trustees, 2 nominated Trustees and 1 co-opted Trustee.The ex-officio trustees will be the vicar and churchwardens for the time being of the ecclesiastical parish of St Peter’s Diddlebury (if no vicar or church wardens can be any member of the team ministry or churchwardens of the Parish).

Nominated Trustees: one members nominated by Diddlebury Parish Council and one member nominated by Stanton Lacy Parish Council (they do not necessarily have to be Parish Councillors.

And finally a co-opted Trustees nominated by the Trustees.

CE Williams has been Clerk to the Trustees for the last five years after the South Shropshire Housing Association relinquished management of the Almshouses. The current Chairman is Mr N Holcombe and Trustees The Reverend John Beesley, Dr V Klein and Mr P Williams – Mr K Worthington has recently stood down.

The Quorum for the Trust is two and the Trustees endeavour to have two meetings a year.

If you would like to find out more about the Almshouses contact Mr Williams on